Shelander Law Offices

QUICK TIPS: TEXAS FIRST OFFENSE DWI/DUI

A first offense DWI conviction is a class "B" Misdemeanor offense with the following penalties:

  • A jail sentence of 72 hours, or if there was an open container in the vehicle at the time of the arrest, the jail sentence will be 6 days.
  • The fine amount will be up to $2,000 plus associated court costs. Texas imposes a surcharge additional to the fine listed above in the amount of $1,000. You will will have to pay this additional surcharge for 3 consecutive years. If your BAC level was .16% or greater, the surcharge amount will be $2,000 per year for 3 years.
  • Your license will be suspended for 90 - 180 days.
  • You will be required to attend a state approved 12-hour DWI class. You must complete the program within 180 days of your probation otherwise your license may be revoked.
  • A chemical test refusal will result in a 180 day license suspension.
  • You will be required to perform from 24 hours up to 100 hours community service.
  • If you had a BAC of .15% or greater will be required to install an interlock on their vehicle(s).
  • You may be able to get a Occupational license during your suspension period. Before the Texas DPS will reinstate your license following your suspension period or issue you a Occupational license, you will be required to show proof of financial responsibility in the form of a Texas SR-22 insurance policy that meets the states minimum auto insurance liability coverage limits. You will also have to pay a license reinstatement fee to the DPS.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For a Response

Put 40 Years Of Experience To Work For You

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

245 North 4th Street
Beaumont, Texas 77701

Phone: 409-234-1479
Fax: 1-409-833-3935
Map & Directions